Facebook Pixel
Nottingham City Council Section 114 Report updates |

To find out more about the section 114 report, visit our section 114 page.

Eligibility to vote 

UK citizens, qualifying Commonwealth citizens, citizens of any EU country that are resident in the UK and certain UK citizens who live or work abroad are eligible to vote.

This page provides information regarding eligibility and special arrangements for electors.

To be eligible for inclusion on the Register of Electors you must be:

  • Over 18, or reach the age of 18 during the period in which the register is in force
  • A British, Irish, Commonwealth or European Union Citizen, or citizen of a British Overseas Territory or British Crown Dependency (See below)
  • Resident at the property you wish to register at on the date you apply

Please note foreign nationals who are not Commonwealth or EU citizens, are not eligible to register or vote.

British overseas territory citizens are those who were born in an overseas British territory or at birth one of your parents was a British overseas territory citizen.

British Crown Dependency are citizens who live within the Channel Islands or the Isle of Wight. 

Special Arrangements

In some cases, special arrangements need to be made to ensure that those who are eligible to vote can vote. For information regarding registration in these circumstances, please visit the register to vote page.

For further information please contact Electoral Services.

Eligible Nations

Commonwealth Countries 1

To qualify, Commonwealth citizens must be resident in the UK and either have leave to remain in the UK or not require such leave. Commonwealth citizens include those of British Crown Dependencies and British Overseas Territories.

Commonwealth Countries
Antigua and Barbuda Kenya Samoa
Australia Kiribati Seychelles
The Bahamas Lesotho Sierra Leone
Bangladesh Malawi Singapore
Barbados Malaysia Solomon Islands
Belize Maldives South Africa
Botswana Malta Sri Lanka
Brunei Darussalam Mauritius Swaziland
Cameroon Mozambique United Republic of Tanzania
Canada Namibia Tonga
Cyprus Nauru Trinidad and Tobago
Dominica New Zealand Tuvalu
Fiji Islands Nigeria Uganda
The Gambia Pakistan United Kingdom 2
Ghana Papua New Guinea Vanuatu
Grenada Rwanda Zambia
Guyana St Kitts and Nevis Zimbabwe
India St Lucia  


St Vincent and The Grenadines



European Union Countries
Austria Lithuania
Belgium Luxemburg
Bulgaria Malta 3
Cyprus 3 Netherlands
Czech Republic Poland
Denmark Portugal
Estonia Republic of Ireland 2
Finland Romania
France Slovakia
Germany Slovenia
Greece Spain
Hungary Sweden
Italy United Kingdom 2

Hong Kong

Only former residents of Hong Kong who hold a British Dependent Territories, British nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas passport qualify for registration.

British Overseas Territories
Anguilla Montserrat
Bermuda Pitcairn Island
British Antarctic Territory St Helena
British Indian Ocean Territory St Helena Dependencies -
British Virgin Islands (Ascension Island, Tristan da Cunha)
Cayman Islands South Georgia and the South Islands
Falkland Islands Turks and Caicos Islands


British Crown Dependencies
Channel Islands Isle of Man

1 Citizens of Commonwealth countries that have been suspended from the Commonwealth retain their voting rights. Their voting rights would only be affected if their country was also deleted from the list of Commonwealth countries in the British Nationality Act 1981 through an Act of the UK Parliament.

2 Citizens of the UK and the Republic of Ireland are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of ALL elections held in the UK.

3 Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of ALL elections held in the UK.

External Links

Electoral Commission Website

Contact Us

Electoral Services 
Loxley House
Station Street
NG2 3NG 


Tel: 0115 876 4111

Contact Us Online Is there anything wrong with this page?