The Early Years Foundation Stage 2021 is mandatory for all Early Years providers: maintained schools, non-maintained schools, independent schools and all providers on Ofsted's Early Years Register.

The Department for Education has published the updated Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework for 2021.

The new statutory framework applies from 1 September 2021. Welfare Requirements are addressed in section 3 of the framework.

Read here: Early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework

Or you can read a summary of the EYFS changes here.

The government says the changes will improve outcomes for all children, but particularly the language and literacy outcomes for disadvantaged children and reduce practitioners workload. 

What has changing?

The DfE says that the proposals are intended to: 

  • make all 17 ELGs clearer, more specific and easier for teachers to make accurate judgements
  • focus on strengthening language and vocabulary development to particularly support disadvantaged children
  • strengthen literacy and numeracy outcomes to ensure all children have a good grasp of these areas of learning in preparation for year 1
  • ensure the ELGs are based on the latest evidence in childhood development
  • ensure they reflect the strongest predictors of future attainment.

Oral health

A need to include oral health alongside the requirement to “promote the good health of children” will be added to the EYFS framework.

Individual settings and schools will need to determine how to meet this requirement and practitioners will not be required to assess this.

To help get ready for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) changes in September 2021 the DfE has launched guidance, practical support and resources for childminders, nursery leaders and pre-school practitioners.

Explore the resource here